Fellowship Position Announcements for 2018-2020
Coral Management Fellows 2016-2018, at fellowship training in Kona, Hawai'i
Coral Management Fellows 2016-2018, at fellowship training in Kona, Hawai'i. From left: Kelly Montenero(Florida), Malcolm Johnson(CNMI), Whitney Hoot(Guam), Hilary Lohmann(USVI), Mariana Leon Perez(Puerto Rico), and Sabrina Woofter(American Samoa). Photo credit: Kevin Doyle.

The National Coral Reef Management Fellowship Program is a partnership between the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Coral Reef Conservation Program, U.S. Department of Interior's Office of Insular Affairs, the U.S. All Islands Coral Reef Committee and Nova Southeastern University's Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography.

The program seeks to build the next generation of coral reef conservation leaders and supports two-year positions that strive to address current capacity gaps, as well as to build long term management capacity in the jurisdictions by placing highly qualified individuals whose education and work experience meet each jurisdiction's specific coral reef management needs.

The fellowship provides funding for two-year positions and the start date is January 2018. The seven jurisdictions where fellows will be placed include: U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Florida, Hawaii, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and American Samoa.

Each position has its own distinct work plan to address specific needs for increased coral reef management capacity in the jurisdiction and it provides training and professional development opportunities. Project work will focus on climate change, land-based sources of pollution and fishing impacts on coral reefs.

Deadline for application is July 11, 2017.

Please visit to access application instructions.

Qualified candidates meeting stated educational requirements with relevant work experience are encouraged to apply. SCUBA diving will not be permitted as part of job duties and applicants must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. permanent resident. Applicants need to have completed posted educational requirements by December 2017 and may apply to multiple jurisdictions.